Our advice is to purchase both a salt and a freshwater license if you’re planning to catch a variety of fish. If you catch a fish you’re not covered for, make sure to release it immediately.
The good news for visitors to Florida is that saltwater fishing charters cover licensing for everyone on board, so you can just sit back and enjoy your time on the water. Fish with a guide in freshwater, however, and you’ll still need to purchase your own license.
Military personnel from Florida can fish for free if they’re visiting home for up to a month. Florida's residents receiving benefits or food stamps can do land-based saltwater fishing without a license.
Anyone whose eligible to fish without a license should make sure to bring proof to show the Coast Guard. The price of a Florida license depends on whether you’re a Florida resident or if you’re visiting from out of state.
License President CostNonresident Cost 3-Day Freshwater N/A$17 7-Day Freshwater N/A$30 Annual Freshwater $$1747 5-Year Freshwater $79N/A 3-Day Saltwater N/A$17 7-Day Saltwater N/A$30 Annual Saltwater $$1747 5-Year Saltwater $79N/A Annual Freshwater/Saltwater Combo $32.50N/ATO count as a Florida resident for fishing purposes, you should either have declared Florida as your only state of residence or be a member of the US Armed Forces who is stationed in Florida. Apart from a small processing fee, all the money you spend goes to the Florida Wildlife Commission (FCC).
You can catch most fish with a regular salt or freshwater license (as long as they’re legal to target). However, there are three species that need an additional tag or permit in Florida.
These include Walmart, tax collector’s offices, and registered bait and tackle shops. That said, many people find the added convenience of getting licensed in Walmart, online, or at your local tackle shop is worth the small additional fee that these places charge.
Unlike some states, annual fishing licenses in Florida are valid for 12 months from the date they were issued. You’ll always know whether you’re still covered, as the expiration date will be printed on the license itself.
You can fish Georgia's sections of the St Mary’s River and Lake Seminole with an FL license. Senior Florida residents don’t need a license to fish or to harvest Shook and Lobster.
Importantly, you must carry proof of age and address at all times while fishing. The only exception is military personnel stationed in Florida, who count as residents for licensing purposes.
Get fishing tips and tricks and read personal stories from anglers who live and breathe fishing and boating. Florida Department of State, Division of Licensing Florida Gun Law in Plain English also provides reciprocity information.
Marriage License Indian River County Courthouse, 2000 20th Street, Vero Beach, FL 32960 (772) 226-3175 8:00 am-4:30 pm. No waiting period for Florida residents who have both completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the last 12 months.
Couples who have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months are entitled to a discount of $32.50. For more information, please call the number above, or go to State of Florida Marriage License Requirements.
A question that a lot of people who are just getting started fishing want to know is whether they will need a fishing license, even if they are planning only to catch and release. Most people will need some type of fishing license even if they intend on releasing the fish that they catch.
Freshwater fishing in your county of residence yours, your spouses, child’s, or parent’s homestead. You are fishing in your county of residence with cane poles or lines that are not equipped with a reeling mechanism and are using live bait.
You are a resident who is saltwater fishing from land or a structure fixed to land who has been determined eligible for the food stamp, temporary cash assistance, or Medicaid Program You can either apply for this online or at a number of stores, including your local Walmart.
By requiring a fishing license, the states can deter most from practicing shady fishing tactics. The revenue from fishing licenses also pays for the salaries and equipment for the authorities who make sure all fishermen are following the rules.
Most fish have some type of regulations when it comes to how many, what size, and time of year that you are allowed to keep them. If we didn’t have someone to make sure everyone was playing by the rules, we would have people breaking the laws all the time.
Most fishing rules and regulations are not meant to punish fishermen, but to protect the fish populations, which in turn will provide anglers with a more healthy and abundant fishery. The permit just allows me to keep a Shook if I want to as long as it is in season and meets the minimum and maximum length requirements.
I wondered the same thing and after doing some research and talking with a Florida Wildlife and Game Officer, here is what I found out. There are certain types of fish that require a little more work in order to keep their populations healthy.
The extra revenues generated from these additional fees from permits and tags go directly to the support of that particular fish. While you can save a couple of bucks by opting for a combination freshwater/saltwater fishing license, it’s really not worth it unless you know for certain that you will be fishing in both a number of times throughout the year.
However, to give you an idea of how much they cost, I’ve listed the price for them here in Florida. You may get away with it for a while, but chances are, you will eventually get caught and when that happens, you risk getting a hefty fine, the seizure of any or all your fishing gear including your boat, and even jail time.