The Florida Department of Health “shall take any steps necessary to ensure the screening and appropriate isolation and quarantine of individuals covered by this order.” Anyone who violates the order is subject to a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500.
(1) Hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing licenses and permits shall be issued without fee to any resident who is certified or determined:(a) To be totally and permanently disabled for purposes of workers’ compensation under chapter 440 as verified by an order of a judge of compensation claims or written confirmation by the carrier providing workers’ compensation benefits, or to be totally and permanently disabled by the Railroad Retirement Board, by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor, or by any branch of the United States Armed Forces, or who holds a valid identification card issued under the provisions of s. 295.17, upon proof of same. (b) To be disabled by the United States Social Security Administration, upon proof of same.
(d) Any resident fishing for recreational purposes only, within her or his county of residence with live or natural bait, using poles or lines not equipped with a fishing line retrieval mechanism. (g) Any person fishing who has been accepted as a client for developmental disabilities services by the Agency for Persons with Disabilities if the agency furnishes proof thereof.
(h) Any resident saltwater fishing from land or from a structure fixed to the land who has been determined eligible by the Department of Children and Families for the food assistance program, temporary cash assistance, or the Medicaid programs. The client must have in his or her possession the ID card and positive proof of identification when fishing.
(l) Any person saltwater fishing for recreational purposes from a pier licensed under s. 379.354. A no-cost license under this paragraph may be obtained from any tax collector’s office upon proof of age and residency and must be in the possession of the resident during hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing activities.
(q) Any person exempted pursuant to this paragraph by commission permit for an outdoor recreational event the primary purpose of which is the rehabilitation or enjoyment of disabled veterans certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor or by any branch of the United States Armed Forces to have a service-connected disability percentage rating of zero or higher or active duty or reserve duty service members of any branch of the United States Armed Forces, the United States Coast Guard, military reserves, the Florida National Guard, or the United States Coast Guard Reserve. A permit issued for an event pursuant to this paragraph shall exempt disabled veterans and active duty or reserve duty service members, the immediate family of such disabled veterans and service members, and one additional person designated to assist a disabled veteran, from possessing a hunting, freshwater fishing, or saltwater fishing license or permit for the duration of the event.
For purposes of this exemption, the term “immediate family” means a parent, spouse, or child. The factors to be considered by the commission in determining whether to issue a permit for an event pursuant to this paragraph shall include, but are not limited to, hunting and fishing seasons, timeframe or duration of the event, species concerns, and the number of such permits granted to the organizer of the event during the calendar year for which the permit is requested.
Saltwater Traps and Debris Removal Ron DeSantis quietly rescinded an executive order Wednesday that stipulated travelers from New York, New Jersey and Connecticut must isolate themselves for 14 days to limit the spread of COVID-19.
The change could be beneficial to tattered tourism businesses that are trying to recover from the pandemic, particularly with the fall travel season approaching. But New York still restricts travelers from Florida, which means many New Yorkers who resettled here still face a predicament.
DeSantis' restrictions in place March 23 when New York City was a hot spot for the new coronavirus. New cases have been surging in Florida for weeks, although the state finally reported some encouraging news Thursday with the lowest percentage of positive tests in more than a month.
Andrew Cuomo’s order requiring travelers from Florida and 34 other states to quarantine for 14 days remains in effect. And New York City Mayor Bill Deflation has set up checkpoints manned by sheriff’s deputies to remind those traveling from Florida and other states that they must quarantine when they arrive.
Upon landing, passengers had to fill out a “self-isolation” form, which required guests to explain the nature of their visit to the Sunshine State and where they came from, he said. The restrictions in New York make it harder for Floridians who want to travel to the Big Apple for business or pleasure, while New Yorkers who fled here to escape the coronavirus could be stuck as hurricane season intensifies.
Some South Florida businesses have had to figure out how to adapt to the change, according to David New, president of a company called Pizza Packet based in Boca Raton. New’s company sells single-serve packets of pizza toppings, such as crushed peppers, garlic or oregano.
Thursday’s change was ironic timing for Jerry Driscoll, who lives in Fernanda Beach and was trying to get up to Lake George in the Adirondack Mountains in New York to visit family. He planned to fly from Jacksonville to Albany, rent a car at the airport and drive an hour to Lake George.
But he checked Trip Advisor weekly and saw nothing but negative reviews written about the hotel where he planned to stay. Some counties or municipalities have issued similar advice to travelers, so anyone looking to go on a road trip or take a vacation should check government websites for their destination and anywhere they plan to stop overnight.
Maryland and Virginia, which border D.C., are exempt from the order, but other states that see a seven-day moving average of new COVID-19 cases at 10 or more per 100,000 people will be affected. As of Sept. 21, the updated list of “high-risk states” that require a 14-day self- quarantine include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin.
Under a new advisory announced Monday, Kentuckians who travel to nine hot spot states reporting positive testing rates equal or greater than 15% are now recommended undergoing a 14-day self- quarantine. Andy Beshear’s travel advisory are Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Nevada, South Carolina, Texas and Mississippi.
Beshear said case clusters have been traced to residents who have recently returned from vacations or attended large gatherings such as block parties or barbecues. Larry Hogan on July 29 issued a travel advisory urging residents to avoid visiting some states with rapidly increasing cases of coronavirus.
As of July 29, that would include Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Nebraska, South Carolina and Texas. Hogan said if people must visit those states, they should immediately be tested upon returning to Maryland and quarantine themselves until learning the results.
Phil Murphy joined his counterparts in New York and Connecticut to announce a mandatory 14-day quarantine for visitors arriving from states with high numbers of positive cases. Effective, Friday, Oct. 16, the state has rescinded a policy that allowed visitors to bypass a 14-day quarantine by presenting a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of travel.
Pennsylvanians should quarantine for 14 days when returning from the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota and Tennessee. You must self- quarantine for 14 days or provide a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of arriving in Rhode Island if coming from certain states with a COVID-19 positivity rate higher than 5% (check here for the up-to-date list).
The state recommends that travelers returning from an area with widespread or ongoing community spread stay home for a period of 14 days from the date of departure. Effective June 15, “Visitors and travelers coming to Vermont by plane, bus or train or those who make stops in a personal vehicle must quarantine for 14 days when they arrive,” the state health department said.
There are no roadblocks, but there are checkpoints when crossing into the state via I-95 and I-10, Beth Brady, communications director for the Florida Department of Transportation, wrote in an email. Drivers and their passengers coming from Louisiana, New York, New Jersey or Connecticut will be required to fill out a “traveler form” at the checkpoint that includes their contact information and the details of their trip.
Ron DeSantis’ executive orders directing anyone entering the state “from an area with substantial community spread” to be under isolation or quarantine. Also, those who simply drove or rode through the states, didn't spend time there and have no symptoms of a coronavirus infection aren't required to quarantine.
On March 20, the governor issued a similar executive order for people from New York and its prostate area who were arriving at airports in Florida. After hearing an explanation of the checkpoints and the 14-day isolation requirement, Fowler agreed that some drivers he thought were turning around might be doing so voluntarily, unwilling to spend a two-week Florida vacation holed up in a hotel room.
A recent article in the Pensacola News Journal stated that: “Of those 3,700 travelers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut or Louisiana, not a single person has been told to turn around and go back the way they came.” The Tax Collector Serves As an agent of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
In this capacity, the Tax Collector is responsible for the sale of a variety of hunting and fishing permits. It is the Tax Collector's duty to collect all monies from these sales and maintain the records associated with these transactions.
Hunting and Fishing licenses may be obtained at the Tax Collector's Office or at various sport stores, bait and tackle shops, and retail stores. All citizens who intend to hunt or fish in Florida require a valid license.
• Residents 65 years of age and over are entitled to a complimentary Citizen Hunting and Fishing Certificate • Permanently and totally disabled residents can obtain a special exemption card.
An authorized disability statement must be presented upon application. • A Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. armed forces and is not stationed in Florida is exempt from the license requirements while home on leave for 30 days or less.
This permit is valid 12 months from the date of issuance. For the avid sportsman who wants the convenience of securing permits for all hunting and fishing activities offered in Florida, for a one time fee, a Lifetime Sportsman's License is available.
This permit includes hunting, turkey, Florida waterfowl, shook, and crawfish stamps. This unique license remains valid if the purchaser moves out of state.
If questioned by law enforcement, it is up to the customer to prove Florida residency. Note: You cannot possess an out-of-state driver license and still claim to be a Florida resident.
Hunting licenses are annual permits valid 12 months from the date of issuance. Freshwater fishing licenses are valid 12 months from the date of issuance.
According to Stephanie Catalan, the Senior Vice President of Marketing and Communications for the Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation, “Riff maintains that coming together through fishing, boating, and other outdoor activities during this extremely stressful and unprecedented pandemic is more important than ever. If the rivers, lakes, or beaches near you are open, and you’re following the CDC guidelines for social distancing, fishing is a great way to reduce stress and have fun.
© Matt Pettish Connecticut DEEP officials opened the 2020 fishing season early in order to avoid typical opening-day crowds. Maryland has temporarily closed all recreational boating as have large boating communities in high population densities: Chicago Harbor, San Diego Harbor, Lake Tahoe, New Smyrna Beach, among many others.
Since fishing can be done individually, anglers can practice social distancing while on rivers, lakes, or on beaches. Connecticut avoided large crowds associated with Opening Day by starting the season both immediately and ahead of schedule.
Massachusetts’ turkey season requires licenses, tags, and harvest reports all to be conducted online. Sportsmen traveling to Rhode Island, Montana, Nevada, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming will have to remain indoors for a two-week period.
© Gerry Bethe Social distancing and self-quarantining guidelines are impacting non-resident hunters in numerous states. But unseen yet is the impact of the virus on the future of hunting, for many Hunter Safety Courses are closed.
While Colorado’s hunting is open, all of their classroom certification courses are temporarily suspended. Oregon has closed their in-class sessions while encouraging prospective hunters to study online.
For example, Ohio has recently suspended all nonresident license sales and Pennsylvania has opened its trout season two weeks early. At the time of this writing, the links below contain important information for hunters and anglers about the Coronavirus.
MFP General Site Notes: Mandatory 14-day quarantine for non-work-related travelers from other states or countries. Residents and visitors are advised to wear face coverings if social distancing is not possible, both indoors and outdoors.
State parks, hotels and attractions are taking precautions to protect guests, but you should assess your risk and that of your family’s prior to traveling. The COVID-19 outbreak in the United States is a rapidly evolving situation.
The status of the outbreak varies by location and state and local authorities are updating their guidance frequently. For up-to-date information and travel guidance, check the state, territorial, tribal and local health department where you are, along your route, and where you are going.
Prepare to be flexible during your trip as restrictions and policies may change during your travel. The more cases at your destination, the more likely you are to get infected during travel and spread the virus to others when you return.
If you get infected while traveling, you can spread the virus to loved ones when you return, even if you don’t have symptoms. Check state, territorial, tribal and local public health websites for information before you travel.
If you are traveling internationally, check the destination’s Office of Foreign Affairs or Ministry of Health or the US Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs, Country Information page external icon for details about entry requirements and restrictions for arriving travelers, such as mandatory testing or quarantine. If You Travel Wear a mask to keep your nose and mouth covered when in public settings.
Avoid close contact by staying at least 6 feet apart (about 2 arms’ length) from anyone who is not from your household. Foreign governments may implement restrictions with little notice, even in destinations that were previously low risk.
This Order introduces a phased approach for resuming passenger cruises. Passenger operations continue to be suspended during the initial phases of this Order.
Passengers who decide to travel are advised to get tested 3-5 days after returning from a trip. In order to slow the spread of COVID-19, many countries have implemented strict screening procedures that deny port entry rights to ships and prevent passengers from disembarking.